Join the association Membership renewal
Intro image


In the early 1970’s, the idea occurred to several specialists and experts of nuclear law, to establish an international association intended to:

  • strengthen relations among lawyers concerned by problems of nuclear law,
  • facilitate exchange of information,
  • promote cooperation.

The Statutes of International Nuclear Law Association, a non-profitable international association under Belgian law, were signed in December 1970 in Brussels where it is still based. The Founding General Assembly took place in Basle in 1972 and the first Congress was held in Karlsruhe in September 1973.

After some 40 years of existence, INLA has about 600 members spread over the world.


The Association shall have as objectives the promotion and pursuit, on an international level, of studies and knowledge of legal issues related to the peaceful utilisation of nuclear energy, with a focus on protecting persons, property and the environment; the exchange of information between members of the Association; and scientific co-operation with other organisations having similar objectives.

For this purpose, the Association may, in particular:

  • organise or promote meetings, congresses, debates, lectures, conferences and seminars, and
  • produce or participate in the production of scientific publications.

The Association may undertake all activities relating directly or indirectly to its objectives and may, by any means, provide assistance to, or collaborate with organisations pursuing the same objectives or whose activities contribute to the realisation of these objectives.

Next event

Warsaw, 3-7 November

International Nuclear Law Association (INLA) Congress 2024

Save the date and mark your calendars for the 25th Nuclear Inter Jura Congress, which will take place in Warsaw, Poland, from Sunday 3 to Thursday 7 November 2024.

This will be the 25th Congress in a series of INLA conferences that have become the leading international event that brings together representatives of government, regulatory authorities, nuclear specialists, legal professionals, academics and others involved in nuclear law. The purpose of the Congress is to promote the study of legal issues associated with the peaceful uses of nuclear energy and to encourage the exchange of information in this field.

Read more
Event icon

International Nuclear Law Association (INLA) Congress 2024

Warsaw, Poland

The board of management (Governance)

International Nuclear Law Association is managed by a Board of Management composed of active members of the Association elected by the General Assembly.

The term of each member of the Board of Management is two years, beginning on January 1 of the year following the date of election. Such mandate may be renewed.

Terms of Reference – INLA Board Election

Composition of the Board of Management (2023-2024) / General Secretariat

Members of the board

President: Lukasz MLYNARKIEWICZ

1st Vice-President: Denis PHILIPPE

2nd Vice-President: Els REYNAERS

DOMINGUEZ Cristina (Argentina)

FORK William (USA)

GEOFFROY Fiona (France)


GÜLEL BIRSEN Abide (Turkiye)


JAVANAINEN Jyrki (Finland)

LAMM Vanda (Hungary)


NICK Kimberly (NEA/OECD)

NOMURA Toyohiro (Japan)

REYNAERS Els (India)

SALTER Ian (United Kingdom)


THIELE Lisa (Canada)


General Secretariat

Secretary General: Marc BEYENS

Deputy Secretary General: Godelieve VANDEPUTTE

Scientific Advisor: Patrick REYNERS

Secretariat of INLA: Bernadette KEYMOLEN


Auditors of the Accounts: Marc ROOTHOOFT, Luc PHAN VAN

Past Presidents


2019-2022: Mr. Horin
2017-2018: Mr. Lavoie
2015-2016: Mrs Kini
2010-2014: Mr. Manóvil
2008-2009: Mr. Berger
2006-2007: Mr. Beyens
2004-2005: Mr. Grilc
2002-2003: Mr. Elk
2000-2001: Mrs Lamm
1998-1999: Mr. Muntzing
1996-1997: Mr. David
1994-1995: Mr. Santaholma
1992-1993: Mrs Machado de Faria-Leme Franco
1990-1991: Mr. Grazebrook
1988-1989: Mr. Tanikawa
1986-1987: Mr. Vandenabeele
1984-1985: Mr. Pelzer
1982-1983: Mr. Shapar
1980-1981: Mrs Corretjer
1978-1979: Mr. Zaldivar
1976-1977: Mr. Carbone
1974-1975: Mr. Hébert
1972-1973: M. Fischerhof


International Nuclear Law Association

Be part of our community
Join us online today